What Are We Really Paying For?

An institution of education is made up of various stakeholders who contribute directly or indirectly to the well being of the school. Without a doubt students are the MOST important stakeholders right? Then why do i feel as though we, as the NUST student body, are being given second preference in all the benefits that are owed to us? With a student body of over 5000 paying $465 or more I would like to think that I would be walking through well kept corridors, sitting on proper furniture and learning in decent lecture rooms… Wait what rooms? We don’t even have those to begin with. One “averagely” Large Delta Theater and two other mediocre ones, which frankly leave much to be desired.

Image
the “NUST-Y” illusion

At first glance well the first thing people say is “well this school has a lot of potential. The architecture is quite amazing!” The pictures you see on the websites, school prospectus, news letters etc are not what you see at the real NUST. The image on the left is what you see at first  and the quality you expect.

Yet this (bottom right) is what you get. An Institution of higher education with broken windows and from the looks of it they wont be fixed any time soon.

Image

So again I ask what are we really paying for? Its definitely not the WiFi or educational material. We are not paying for the equipment the school needs to live up to its name of being a National University of Science and Technology because lets face it, we are centuries away from that.

My questions may seem immature to some but I would still like some answers. Why am I sitting on desks so uneven they could give me splinters at anytime, yet most admin sit on newly upholstered furniture? Why, in 2013 am I still struggling to download simple PDF off the internet during the day?

I know im not the only one asking these questions,and i know the problems highlighted above are not nearly all of them, but I believe its a start..

peace’n’ love

the N.T.O

3 thoughts on “What Are We Really Paying For?”

  1. you def right Nto…its as if we a piece of luggage on top of a bus goin round africa: we get soaked wet by rain, baked by the sun, frozen by the cold….no one cares; its pathetic…sometimes I even feel sorry for lecturers wen they get chalk dust on their clothes: we at Varsity nt High School.

    1. you would swear that the school could actually carry on running without us. the sad thing is that we are too passive and we take all the nonsense thrown at us. we should be taking physical action, complaining, petitioning, the works. well I suppose this is a start. Look out for my next issue as I carry on probing…

      peace’n’love

Leave a comment